Progression of me

from eighty four to now…

Self Belief.

on April 6, 2014

Today I achieved something I thought I’d never do.

I completed my first Fun Run!

And even more importantly I did it without walking.

Stoked doesn’t even begin to describe how I feel; and I’m even thinking it won’t be my last…

Who’d have thunk it?!  At school I was never a runner.  In fact I HATED running.  And as an adult if I ever had to run; I could hardly run 100m without gasping for breath and feeling as if I would die.

Image

My bib 🙂

Over the last 5-6 months I have gradually taught myself to run (OK so it’s probably more of a jog but hey that’s good enough for me).  I started out using the C25K app interspersed with runs on the treadmill for as long as I could and walk/runs around the neighbourhood/lake.  As part of my 30 Things Project I decided to register for a Fun Run, as my goal was to run 5KM without stopping.  My colleague suggested the a particular fun run in April.  It felt like a long way away, however soon the weeks were flying by and I started to worry I wouldn’t actually be able to run the whole way!

Earlier this week however, we got up nice and early and did a bit of a practice run.  We did what we believe was around the 5KM mark in 36 minutes – which included a couple of brief stops and a toilet break.  Other than that we ran the entire way.  Suddenly I truly believed “hey, maybe I can do this”.

This morning the day had arrived and I was incredibly nervous as I drove to where the event was to take place.  “What am I doing?!”  I kept thinking.  But soon enough the nerves disappeared and before long we were off!

It was about half way along that my hip flexors started to ache but I pushed on and even towards the end when part of me desperately wanted to stop, my wonderful running buddy’s words of encouragement spurred me on and when she said we had to sprint the last 100m I didn’t think I would be able to!

As we rounded the final bend my buddy said “come on – you can beat that lady!”  My competitive streak kicked in and I sprinted for the finish line – crossing that line, although I felt as if I was about to keel over, I was so proud of myself.  I had given it my all.  And I had not given up!

IMG_4072

BEFORE!

IMG_4073

And AFTER! Silly orange photo – red face and all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Excitedly, my time was 32.24 (EXACTLY the same time as my friends) and I placed 177 out of 607 finishers and 16th out of the 46 finishers in my age group.

So, what did I learn today?  That I CAN do things I once thought I could never do.  That that little voice in my head can be ignored!  That the body can definitely achieve what the mind believes.  You really have to believe in yourself.  You are much stronger and able than you think you are 🙂

This was probably the most important of my 30 things as it was something I really didn’t believe I could do.  I proved myself wrong!  And I’ll do it again!  Next time I want to crack that 30 minute mark 🙂

I highly recommend if there’s something you really don’t believe you can do to just give it a shot – you never know!  You may just surprise yourself 🙂

4 responses to “Self Belief.

  1. Great job on the 5K! Very inspirational for me today – I can follow through on my fitness plan. (xrunner). Thank you!

  2. great blog and i am so excited to read of you journey……give me hope 🙂

    • Sorry for the delay – thanks so much for your comment and for stopping by 🙂 Welcome! It makes me so happy that I can possibly help/inspire others! I have been quite busy lately but hope to be back blogging soon!!

Leave a Reply

The Life Of Morgan ✈

The mind is the limit. As long as the mind can envision the fact that you can do something, you can do it, as long as you really believe 100% - Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Ella Dawson

My business is generally pleasurable.

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

scarlettcaress

Scarlett Caress - Adventures of a modern day Pin-Up

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

YOUrtruthdiet

Chronicles of a Health Guru Wannabe

The Gym Rat Diaries

Defining fitness to bring people of all backgrounds from beginner to novice, working with limited budgets, time and resources healthy information and motivation!

Fitness and Health Spot

just a student who enjoys health, nutrition, and fitness!

Part of my world

Do you need travel inspiration? I travel and eat my way through some amazing places! Join the fun!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

steppingoutwithsteph

The ramblings, dreams and clichés that are my life.

Those daily things

,,It is by studying little things the we attain the great art of having as little misery and as much happiness as possible." - Samuel Johnson

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Two-Minute Tune-Up

Quick inspiration

Life After Love

Counselling And Neuro Emotional Technique

