Progression of me

from eighty four to now…

Mid Month Update!

on September 18, 2013

Friday the 13th of September.  The final day of the “No Sugar/No Alcohol Challenge”.  It was a day I was looking forward to – the finish line – the light at the end of the tunnel.  It’s funny how when something is “banned” you crave it oh so much more!  And I discovered, over the weekend, when I had a few of the items I had really been missing – they just didn’t satisfy me the way I expected…I guess it doesn’t take long for your body to change…. certain chocolate however, did taste as good as I remember!

I’m excited to say, that over the 30 days I only caved on 7 occasions – 6 for sugar and 1 for alcohol (the farewell).  Mind you, I only had 3 drinks, so it’s not like I went overboard.

One thing I did realise in the challenge was just how much sugar there is in everyday life!    It really did disgust me a little that everywhere you turn it’s there.  It’s an epidemic! 

What I also learnt in the challenge was to make conscious decisions when I am going to have something to eat and that preparation made a big difference too.  It’s important to remember though, that it’s OK to treat myself every now and again – everything in moderation.  It’s also OK to say NO!  Although sugar and alcohol are so widely accepted in our society and I did have people say “oh, why aren’t you having any cake?!” saying NO is OK!!!

Now, with the end of one challenge, I decided to bring in another – no deep-fried, trans fatty foods!  I found that during the no sugar challenge I was eating more of these types of foods (“they don’t have sugar so it’s OK) – totally wrong attitude I know!  So I thought best to introduce a new challenge.  So far so good on day 3 😉  Will keep you posted on that one too…

And finally SQUATEMBER! Where are we sitting with that?  Well it’s Day 18!  And I’m pleased to report that I have achieved my squat target every day!  Today we hit 155!!!  Oh yeah baby!  And surprisingly, I’m quite enjoying the challenge.  I’ve found different ways of squatting too, to spice things up a little – using dumbbells, barbells, box squats, sumo squats, squats with little pulses (feel the burn there!!!!) and breaking them up into sets helps too.  I’m actually thinking I’ll continue it into October…probably not increasing further but at least doing 50 or so a day – bring on that butt of steel!!!!!

Anyone else doing Squatember?  If so, how are you finding it?

One response to “Mid Month Update!

  1. […] On the 4th of September a work colleague and I decided to give “Squatember” a go.  For more info, check out my previous posts – here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

The Life Of Morgan ✈

The mind is the limit. As long as the mind can envision the fact that you can do something, you can do it, as long as you really believe 100% - Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Ella Dawson

My business is generally pleasurable.

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

scarlettcaress

Scarlett Caress - Adventures of a modern day Pin-Up

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

YOUrtruthdiet

Chronicles of a Health Guru Wannabe

The Gym Rat Diaries

Defining fitness to bring people of all backgrounds from beginner to novice, working with limited budgets, time and resources healthy information and motivation!

Nikki C's Fit Life

just a millennial with a passion for fitness figuring out life

Part of my world

Do you need travel inspiration? I travel and eat my way through some amazing places! Join the fun!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

steppingoutwithsteph

The ramblings, dreams and clichés that are my life.

Those daily things

,,It is by studying little things the we attain the great art of having as little misery and as much happiness as possible." - Samuel Johnson

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Two-Minute Tune-Up

Quick inspiration

Life After Love

Counselling And Neuro Emotional Technique

