Progression of me

from eighty four to now…

That thin line…

on June 16, 2013

DOMS,

also known as Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness is something I’m sure every one of us has experienced at one time or another.  You know that feeling when you struggle to sit up in bed because your abs are so sore?  Or you walk up the stairs and your butt hurts so bad you don’t think you can make it to the next flight?  Or the muscles which bother me the most, quads – I walk around with my legs straight because I can’t even bend my knees without the pain ohhh the pain!!!

Wikipedia defines DOMS as:

Delayed onset muscle soreness (DOMS), also called muscle fever, is the pain and stiffness felt in muscles several hours to days after unaccustomed or strenuousexercise.

The soreness is felt most strongly 24 to 72 hours after the exercise.[1] It is caused by eccentric (lengthening) exercise, which causes microtrauma to the muscle fibers. After such exercise, the muscle adapts rapidly to prevent muscle damage, and thereby soreness, if the exercise is repeated.[2]

Delayed onset muscle soreness is one symptom of exercise-induced muscle damage. The other is acute muscle soreness, which appears during and immediately after exercise.

I must admit though…and I’m sure you would all agree.  As much as I hate DOMS, part of me loves the feeling – because you know exactly which muscles you’ve worked and if you work out again while they are still sore you really can target those muscles and get further benefits!  Win win winning!!!

So, why all this talk about DOMS?  Well, I  have finally got back into my training after the big US trip.  Apologies for my delay – I’ve had a fair bit going on since returning to Australian soil 2 weeks ago.  Settling back in and then starting a new job whilst in the middle of a bit of an emotional break down has proved tough for me and so, as always, WordPress took a bit of a back seat.  I have decided not to commit myself to a certain number of posts a week but just to write as I feel comfortable and hopefully will be back up and running soon.  So thanks (as always) for baring [now please help me out here – is it baring or bearing – this I never know!! haha] with me.

So I have decided to give Fitness First the flick.  As much as I enjoyed it there, I have found a new gym which is more suited to the goals I have in mind.  Plus a good friend of mine goes there and I’m hoping to have another friend join up too…..

This week I begin a brand new eating plan which has been put into place by my awesome new Personal Trainer [highly recommended by my good friend Coffee2Words].  I’ve only had 2 sessions with him so far, but I am feeling really good about it and excited for some news goals I have set myself.  I’m not going to announce them just yet…more to come on them in the next few weeks.  In the mean time I am going to get started on my new eating plan, get back into my exercise and start heading back down that road.

The best thing is, I haven’t really said goodbye to my old trainer in Sydney.  More of a “See ya later!”  I learnt so much from her and continue to do so.  On Saturday I had a training session with her whilst I was in town for the day doing a few other things and it was great to catch up.  I hope to be able to train with her every now and again and continue to learn from her as I have in the past via emails, texts and instagram photos!!!   As much as our sessions were about the physical aspect of fitness they were also a lot to do with nutrition and most importantly the mental side too.

2 responses to “That thin line…

  1. […] That thin line… (progressionofme.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

The Life Of Morgan ✈

The mind is the limit. As long as the mind can envision the fact that you can do something, you can do it, as long as you really believe 100% - Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Ella Dawson

My business is generally pleasurable.

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

scarlettcaress

Scarlett Caress - Adventures of a modern day Pin-Up

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

YOUrtruthdiet

Chronicles of a Health Guru Wannabe

The Gym Rat Diaries

Defining fitness to bring people of all backgrounds from beginner to novice, working with limited budgets, time and resources healthy information and motivation!

Fitness and Health Spot

just a student who enjoys health, nutrition, and fitness!

Part of my world

Do you need travel inspiration? I travel and eat my way through some amazing places! Join the fun!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

steppingoutwithsteph

The ramblings, dreams and clichés that are my life.

Those daily things

,,It is by studying little things the we attain the great art of having as little misery and as much happiness as possible." - Samuel Johnson

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Two-Minute Tune-Up

Quick inspiration

Life After Love

Counselling And Neuro Emotional Technique

