Progression of me

from eighty four to now…

The wonderful world of Jetlag.

on May 16, 2013

Grumpy and irritable.  Things that normally don’t bother me are like neon beacons flashing at me – tempting me to explode.  Oh how I have NOT missed this feeling.  Although I love travel, I hate the jet lag that comes with it….I’m affected by lack of sleep on a good day….when it’s magnified like this I’m pushed to my absolute limits and the bitch inside me wants to come out and play.

7:10pm local time.  May 11th, 2013.  We left Sydney over 24 hours ago now – and have been awake now for something like 29 hours.  I haven’t slept much and have hit my head numerous times on the roof of the bus we are currently travelling on between Los Angeles and Las Vegas.  Not good.

But…we are in AMERICA!  The trip I have been counting down for, for so long is finally here.

The weather is amazing.  After the move last weekend I am looking forward to 3 more weeks of summer before I can no longer deny the coldness that is my hometown in winter.

I meant to write a few posts this week but the week just got away from me.  I’ve got a few things I want to discuss – what I want to get out of the move, my emotional state and also my new job.   So, let’s see what I can get out now, with at least another 2.5 hours to kill as we travel through the desert from California to Nevada…..

Haha – so that’s as far as I got that day.  It’s now May 15th and the jet lag has finally subsided and we have left Vegas for San Francisco – arriving around 3pm this afternoon.  Las Vegas – what can I say – it was another world!

Amazing, intense, overwhelming, bright, loud, crazy, fun, there are literally hundreds of words I could use to describe the place.

I’m not sure what it was, but I felt a real sense of numbness when I first arrived – hard to describe – I’m hoping it’s gone now but we will see…I haven’t really had a chance to do much exercise so am going to get out and use the hotel gym first thing tomorrow and see if this helps.  I intended on using it at the Mirage in Vegas but just didn’t have time.

Despite the weird head space I was in I did love Vegas.  The main thing I noticed was that the service was second to none – people happy to help and seemed to really enjoy their jobs (if they didn’t they didn’t show it).  Chivalry is certainly not dead here either – men opening doors and offering up their seats to you – it’s such a nice change as this hardly ever happens back home.  Just common courtesy really.

Highlights of my time in Las Vegas would have to be visiting the Stratosphere and the Top of the World Restaurant, Our Helicopter tour of the Grand Canyon (we spent a good hour and a half at least in the air!), seeing the Chippendales on stage and then partying on with some new friends from the US and just generally submerging myself in all things Vegas.

A random decision this morning when killing some time to have a quick last gamble resulting in a win of $250 – the most I have ever won!  Stoked about that one!

All up I really enjoyed my time in Vegas but found that I really only got to scrape the surface…Vegas has not seen the last of this Aussie 😉

Let’s see what San Fran can offer…

3 responses to “The wonderful world of Jetlag.

  1. Sarah says:

    Funnily enough jet lag doesn’t make me too grumpy. Although jet lag plus lack of food will. Jet lag makes me dizzy both on reaching America and returning home I was constantly dizzy until I could sleep. Is it very hot over in Vegas at the moment?

    • I guess jet lag effects us all differently! It was really hot in Vegas – between 38 and 40 the whole time we were there! It was fine tho as I don’t mind dry heat 🙂

  2. […] The wonderful world of Jetlag. (progressionofme.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

The Life Of Morgan ✈

The mind is the limit. As long as the mind can envision the fact that you can do something, you can do it, as long as you really believe 100% - Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Ella Dawson

My business is generally pleasurable.

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

scarlettcaress

Scarlett Caress - Adventures of a modern day Pin-Up

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

YOUrtruthdiet

Chronicles of a Health Guru Wannabe

The Gym Rat Diaries

Defining fitness to bring people of all backgrounds from beginner to novice, working with limited budgets, time and resources healthy information and motivation!

Fitness and Health Spot

just a student who enjoys health, nutrition, and fitness!

Part of my world

Do you need travel inspiration? I travel and eat my way through some amazing places! Join the fun!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

steppingoutwithsteph

The ramblings, dreams and clichés that are my life.

Those daily things

,,It is by studying little things the we attain the great art of having as little misery and as much happiness as possible." - Samuel Johnson

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Two-Minute Tune-Up

Quick inspiration

Life After Love

Counselling And Neuro Emotional Technique

