Progression of me

from eighty four to now…

Information overload

on February 17, 2013

Week Two of the 12WC has come to an end.  I am pleased to report another good week.  It wasn’t quite as good as week one – although instead of a “cheat” meal out at a restaurant I treated myself to a couple of snacks over the weekend – which probably worked out better.  I was unable to attend the Outdoor Fitness Class on Monday but I still managed a week I’m happy with in terms of my exercise.

I also have good news to report!

My weight is the lowest I can actually remember it ever being for years!!  I now only have 7 kilos to go until I hit my goal weight!  With 10 weeks left on the challenge I’m hoping I can smash that!!!

One thing I’m struggling a bit with in this challenge though – and I’m not surprised as I knew this would be the tough part – is the mountain of conflicting information I am finding with relation to nutrition and weight loss.  The more research I do, the more I end up confused.

Do I remove carbs altogether?

Do I take supplements?

Should I actually INCREASE my fat content?

I cannot wait until I start my studies in Nutrition so I can answer these questions myself 😉

Speaking of nutrition – I notice that the results in my poll show that 2 out of 3 of you find that the part of a healthy lifestyle you struggle most with is diet.  I’m glad it’s not just me!

One of my team mates in the challenge has signed up to Bodytrim and part of the program is eating protein only for the first 3 days.  I’m not sold on this idea….and looking at the website losing 5 kgs in the first week can’t be healthy can it?

I stumbled upon an interesting article which stated “Since there is so much health information a click away on the internet it is important to not become overwhelmed by all the details.”  The article discusses the main factors to focus on.  Check it out here – The 80/20 Rule Applied To Your Health

Everything in the article my trainer would agree with and she made an interesting point yesterday.  She said she’s been training clients for over 15 years and has seen what works and what doesn’t.  Drastic “fad diets” do not work – but sometimes people need to try them all so that they can say first hand “I’ve tried that and it didn’t work for me”.

If I’m seeing results with what I’m doing at the moment, I think I’ll stick with it….if it ain’t broke don’t fix it right?  What are your thoughts?

Until next time 🙂

2 responses to “Information overload

  1. Congratulations on your success! Through years of trial and error I’ve finally found what works best for me concerning my eating habits. I am gluten sensitive, so that’s a no brainer, I exclude gluten from my diet. As of Dec 1 of last year I cut sugar and dairy from my diet, completely. I was only having it occasionally anyways, so it was easy. I only use a small amount of coconut sugar or Agave when a sweetener is necessary. My diet is basically plant based, although I eat organic chicken, turkey, and fish sparingly. During the recent bout of food poisoning, I had to be off coffee for days, so I let it go completely. Now I drink water, green and herbal tea. I don’t eat any pre-packaged stuff, junk or fast food. I’ve been overweight for years, but now my weight is dropping naturally and to be honest, I give weight very little thought. I’m more interested in the way I feel on a day to day basis, and long term health. Once my move is complete, there is a small gym available to the apartment dwellers so I will be working out there as well as walking more as there is better air quality, and less pit bulls in the neighborhood. I’ll be writing more about this on my blog at some point.

  2. Thanks for sharing my post – The 80/20 Rule Applied To Your Health 🙂

    I wish you the best on your health journey!

    Jesse

Leave a Reply

The Life Of Morgan ✈

The mind is the limit. As long as the mind can envision the fact that you can do something, you can do it, as long as you really believe 100% - Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Ella Dawson

My business is generally pleasurable.

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

scarlettcaress

Scarlett Caress - Adventures of a modern day Pin-Up

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

YOUrtruthdiet

Chronicles of a Health Guru Wannabe

The Gym Rat Diaries

Defining fitness to bring people of all backgrounds from beginner to novice, working with limited budgets, time and resources healthy information and motivation!

Fitness and Health Spot

just a student who enjoys health, nutrition, and fitness!

Part of my world

Do you need travel inspiration? I travel and eat my way through some amazing places! Join the fun!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

steppingoutwithsteph

The ramblings, dreams and clichés that are my life.

Those daily things

,,It is by studying little things the we attain the great art of having as little misery and as much happiness as possible." - Samuel Johnson

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Two-Minute Tune-Up

Quick inspiration

Life After Love

Counselling And Neuro Emotional Technique

