Progression of me

from eighty four to now…

Preparation is key

on January 29, 2013

According to Google, the word preparation means:

1. The action of making ready or being made ready to use.  

2. Something done to get ready for an event or undertaking.

You are going on a trip, you have an upcoming exam, you are hosting a party, you want to run that marathon….for any of these things there’s a certain amount of preparation which must be done.  But when it comes to our diet the majority of us are not prepared!  It feels so much easier to buy that coffee and muffin on the way to the school…to go in on lunch with the team at work….

No one said this was meant to be easy!  But when it comes to our diet, why is it so much harder to prepare than it is to prepare for that holiday?  Is it because it takes time?  Because it’s not as fun?  (Some people would argue that I believe!)  Because we’re not as good at it?  I think for me, the lack of preparation really comes down to being lazy!  When I get home from work the last thing I want to do is to cook – most of the time I’m pretty good though, I’ll whip up some form of protein (tuna, eggs, kangaroo meat) and veggies.  It’s quick and it’s simple.  But lunch…that is where I struggle.

It’s now the 29th of January and I’m pleased to say I have stuck to my guns with the exercise!  But my diet is where I am struggling.  Funny that I want to get into nutrition and I can’t even get myself on track!!!  Well I guess it starts here doesn’t it…if I can get myself sorted I should be able to relate to other people’s difficulties and help them overcome them!

Everyone always says those 3 magic words – Preparation is key – when it comes to your diet.  So, this weekend, I plan to spend my Sunday preparing!  Preparing for the week ahead.  And that’s how it’s going to be!  Just like with my exercise I’m going to accept it as just another part of everyday life…let’s see how I go!  If you have any tips and tricks about preparation when it comes to food I’d love to hear them, so please feel free to comment below or on facebook or twitter.

4 responses to “Preparation is key

  1. coffee2words says:

    Do what I do with dinners (since everything seems to always be for four anyway) make it for four, pack away 2 or 3 serves and eat one. Then you have one dinner and if you freeze it, 3 lunches 🙂 Also, when you prep that carrot/celery/capsicum for dinner, prep another and cut it into sticks. Quick and healthy MT or AT you could even take a low fat dip/hommus/pesto to add good fats and oils in 😀

    • Great tip with the extra carrot/celery/capsicum – if ur already cutting one up and extra one will only take a minute!! 🙂 Again tho..it’s the preparation I struggle with – finding the motivation just to cook in the first place! lol

  2. proportionsinlife says:

    This is a great post and a pleasant reminder – not just for diet, but for everything in life. We know to anticipate certain cause-and-effect and then we play “stupid” or “busy” and wonder why we didn’t succeed. When I got into my 60 pound weight loss, the one thing that kept me motivated to prepare for my diet is this: I *will not* work as hard as I do at the gym or on the track, just to go blow it all off on food. Part of it is also learning to respect and love our selves enough to only put nourishment into our bodies – to fuel our best lives possible.
    Life is good.

Leave a Reply

The Life Of Morgan ✈

The mind is the limit. As long as the mind can envision the fact that you can do something, you can do it, as long as you really believe 100% - Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Ella Dawson

My business is generally pleasurable.

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

scarlettcaress

Scarlett Caress - Adventures of a modern day Pin-Up

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

YOUrtruthdiet

Chronicles of a Health Guru Wannabe

The Gym Rat Diaries

Defining fitness to bring people of all backgrounds from beginner to novice, working with limited budgets, time and resources healthy information and motivation!

Fitness and Health Spot

just a student who enjoys health, nutrition, and fitness!

Part of my world

Do you need travel inspiration? I travel and eat my way through some amazing places! Join the fun!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

steppingoutwithsteph

The ramblings, dreams and clichés that are my life.

Those daily things

,,It is by studying little things the we attain the great art of having as little misery and as much happiness as possible." - Samuel Johnson

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Two-Minute Tune-Up

Quick inspiration

Life After Love

Counselling And Neuro Emotional Technique

