Progression of me

from eighty four to now…

Spelt Bread!

on December 24, 2012

2 posts in one day I hear you say!  You betcha!  Today has been a great day so I wanted to share with you all what has gone down!

Recently, my brother and his girlfriend came to visit and his girlfriend – let’s call her Sally for the purpose of the blog – mentioned she had lost 20kg over a 4 month period.  I was shocked as I didn’t think she had 20kg to lose!!!  She showed me a before and after photo and the results spoke for themselves.  I was amazed and very impressed!  I then asked her how she had done it and she said “I cut out white carbs and starch mostly.  So like bread, pasta, rice, potatoes, pumpkin etc.”

She then continued to explain that she makes her own spelt bread as an alternative to normal bread, she also purchases a special type of pasta called “Slim Pasta” – which is apparently no carbs and is available at Woolworth’s and for rice she uses cauliflower grated up and boiled (a recent discovery from another friend of mine who also does the same thing).

The spelt bread sounded like a good alternative to normal bread and so I asked if Sally could show me how to make it some time.  I have never even made bread before so I was quite excited.  Today, I visited Sally and she showed me how to do it.

Before…..

Baking!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And after (wrapped and ready to take home)….

After shot!

The bread was absolutely delicious and seems easy enough to make….will see how I go when I attempt it myself!  I then decided to check out the benefits of Spelt bread…according to many websites it appears that spelt flour is higher in fiber and so is better for the feeling of fullness and is also easier to digest.  Apparently though it is higher in carbohydrates than wheat flour.  It has the same amount of protein…but is lower in overall calories….I think I may need to do some further research on Spelt bread before I give my final verdict…

What are your thoughts on Spelt bread?  Is there something you use as an alternative to bread in lowering carbohydrate intake?

Either way – nothing beats fresh, warm, home cooked bread! YUM!!!!

3 responses to “Spelt Bread!

  1. Kylie McCullough says:

    Wow! The gluten free ideas are fabbo, thanks 🙂

  2. […] Spelt Bread! (progressionofme.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

The Life Of Morgan ✈

The mind is the limit. As long as the mind can envision the fact that you can do something, you can do it, as long as you really believe 100% - Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Ella Dawson

My business is generally pleasurable.

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

scarlettcaress

Scarlett Caress - Adventures of a modern day Pin-Up

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

YOUrtruthdiet

Chronicles of a Health Guru Wannabe

The Gym Rat Diaries

Defining fitness to bring people of all backgrounds from beginner to novice, working with limited budgets, time and resources healthy information and motivation!

Fitness and Health Spot

just a student who enjoys health, nutrition, and fitness!

Part of my world

Do you need travel inspiration? I travel and eat my way through some amazing places! Join the fun!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

steppingoutwithsteph

The ramblings, dreams and clichés that are my life.

Those daily things

,,It is by studying little things the we attain the great art of having as little misery and as much happiness as possible." - Samuel Johnson

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Two-Minute Tune-Up

Quick inspiration

Life After Love

Counselling And Neuro Emotional Technique

