Progression of me

from eighty four to now…

Foundations of Health

on December 12, 2012

Firstly – can I say that Alexisonfire was amazing last night?!!!  What a way to say goodbye!  ❤  But more about that later….

Recently, I’ve been struggling with motivation – particularly when it comes to my diet.  I’ve found with everything that’s been going on this year, food has become a bit of a comfort.  Emotional eating I think they call it? 😉

So, with this in mind my personal trainer and I sat down and went through a number of factors which influence overall health and fitness.  The easiest way for me to explain these is with diagrams…

testUltimately – every 24 hour period should be made up equally of the 4 areas above.  First and foremost we need to eat to stay alive – and our diet should be a healthy one, full of vitamins and minerals that our body needs to keep going.  We also need to keep active – our bodies weren’t made to sit behind desks all day!  The category “Happy” can be broken up into two sub categories – personal development and work (this is where the work/life balance comes in).  And “Quiet” is all about rest – this is a very important time – for intraspection as well as for repair.

The best time for us to rest is between the hours of 10pm and 6am (this does obviously differ from person to person); but generally speaking between 10pm and 2am is when our bodies do their “physical repair” and between the hours of 2am and 6am are when our bodies do their “mental repair”.

Have you ever noticed you often wake up between the hours of 2 and 6?  I know for a fact it’s normally about 3am when I wake, normally after quite a full on dream.  I guess my mind has been rearranging/storing/ doing all the things a brain does while I’m asleep!  [Yes, I did previously say that I am not an expert when it comes to the inner workings of the brain!]

I guess what this means is that if one part is lacking then everything is out of wack….so if my diet isn’t balanced then this is probably going to effect my movement which in turn is going to effect my sleeping cycle…it’s a bit of a snowball affect!

But this wasn’t the only thing that stuck with me.  What really hit home, was what my PT calls the

Foundations of Health

T – Thoughts 

B – Breath

H – Hydration

N – Nutrition

M – Movement

R – Rhythm

If we haven’t got the first foundation sorted, then forget about the next one….it all starts with our thoughts.  I guess this is where the saying “mind over matter” comes into play.  If you truly want to achieve something you will as long as you believe you can do it.  If those negative thoughts keep creeping up then you won’t get anywhere…you need to make sure you believe you can do it!

I’m going to cut this post short now…as I am hoping I can get my PT to write up a little explanation of the Foundations of Health which I can share with you all!  Her explanations will be much better than mine 🙂

4 responses to “Foundations of Health

  1. Sarah C says:

    Good way of looking at it – we all struggle with these things from time to time, it’s just a matter or re-prioritizing and getting back on track 🙂 That’s funny, though – I, too, almost always wake up sometime between 2-4 a.m. – wonder if that means something?

  2. […] what I SHOULD do?  This is what I need to work out before I can move on…this is where the Foundations of Health come in – where I need to get my thoughts in order before I can move on to the next […]

  3. […] December I wrote about the Foundations of Health and how it all starts with our thoughts.  The past month or so has shown me that this is 100% […]

Leave a Reply

The Life Of Morgan ✈

The mind is the limit. As long as the mind can envision the fact that you can do something, you can do it, as long as you really believe 100% - Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Ella Dawson

My business is generally pleasurable.

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

scarlettcaress

Scarlett Caress - Adventures of a modern day Pin-Up

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

YOUrtruthdiet

Chronicles of a Health Guru Wannabe

The Gym Rat Diaries

Defining fitness to bring people of all backgrounds from beginner to novice, working with limited budgets, time and resources healthy information and motivation!

Nikki C's Fit Life

just a millennial with a passion for fitness figuring out life

Part of my world

Do you need travel inspiration? I travel and eat my way through some amazing places! Join the fun!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

steppingoutwithsteph

The ramblings, dreams and clichés that are my life.

Those daily things

,,It is by studying little things the we attain the great art of having as little misery and as much happiness as possible." - Samuel Johnson

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Two-Minute Tune-Up

Quick inspiration

Life After Love

Counselling And Neuro Emotional Technique

