Progression of me

from eighty four to now…

Work/Life Balance

on November 12, 2012

So, I got to thinking today, as I was sitting at work at 7:20pm about how much I have been working lately..and how tired I have been and it got me to thinking about work/life balance and how important that is.  Yes, I enjoy my job most of the time – but when your social life starts to suffer and you are pretty much eat, sleeping and working you start to wonder if it’s worth it?

This image sums it up quite well…

At this point in time I believe mine’s probably leaning more to the 75 / 25 mark….I’d much rather it be the other way around 😀

Too much work and not enough play….

I have been meaning to get back into my routine now for quite some time.  I’ve had quite a number of … what shall I call them…obstacles that have come along this year and each one has made it harder and harder to get back on to the horse so to speak.  I think that lately, I have thrown myself into work to stop me from thinking about some of these things…and I guess to stop me from dealing with some of them…this isn’t really making me happy though…and happiness is so important to our overall health and wellbeing.

So, as I sat at my desk responding to the countless emails that just seemed to never-end I started thinking…small steps…it’s all about the little steps that get us to our goals…

And this brought me to setting a bit of a challenge for myself – something simple yet effective.  Each day I am going to list something I have done which has made me happy – whether it be going for a walk at lunch time, seeing a friend after work, listening to my favourite song…things that do not involve work.

Today I can’t even think of something that has made me happy which doesn’t involve work!  And that’s not how I want tomorrow to be…SO!  The challenge has been set…and I’d love for you to join me!  So – let me know something you did today that made you happy?

Let’s get’s that scale tilting in the right direction 🙂

8 responses to “Work/Life Balance

  1. coffee2words says:

    You wrote a blog post! 🙂 that’s a very positive step on your journey! 🙂

    • Haha! Good point! I didn’t even think – and writing this blog does make me happy too 🙂 I’m already getting addicted 😉

      • coffee2words says:

        It’s very easy to do! 🙂 Hence my 6 posts have turned into nearly 60 already! 😀

      • I tried to reply to your comment on the train this morning but it wouldnt send….yeah, I can see my posts getting up there…it totally is easy to do! But my problem is getting followers…does it take time to build them up? I did have a record of activity today on my blog apparently though! yee haa! haha

      • coffee2words says:

        interact with other bloggers, follow, comment and like posts. Get on Facebook, get on Twitter. If followers is what you’re after, you will have to get your name out there first! 😀

      • Ah yes so it’s just a matter of time – maybe not necessarily followers but I like the idea of interaction and feedback 🙂

      • coffee2words says:

        Yep, so you need to browse other blogs on WordPress that you enjoy reading, comment and like their posts, write interesting posts yourself, perhaps promote your work when you comment on their posts, so like if they post a similar topic… If you get on Twitter and Facebook, connect with similar people/pages. It’s time consuming, but it will pay off if you stick with it. Other people will comments, people you don’t know. You’ll get followers… and then you too can write a post about the obscure search engine results people use to find your blog too 😀

  2. wartica says:

    I agree because I need an adequate balance between all the things I love to do,minus the office space obligation lol :))

Leave a Reply

The Life Of Morgan ✈

The mind is the limit. As long as the mind can envision the fact that you can do something, you can do it, as long as you really believe 100% - Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Ella Dawson

My business is generally pleasurable.

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

scarlettcaress

Scarlett Caress - Adventures of a modern day Pin-Up

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

YOUrtruthdiet

Chronicles of a Health Guru Wannabe

The Gym Rat Diaries

Defining fitness to bring people of all backgrounds from beginner to novice, working with limited budgets, time and resources healthy information and motivation!

Fitness and Health Spot

just a student who enjoys health, nutrition, and fitness!

Part of my world

Do you need travel inspiration? I travel and eat my way through some amazing places! Join the fun!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

steppingoutwithsteph

The ramblings, dreams and clichés that are my life.

Those daily things

,,It is by studying little things the we attain the great art of having as little misery and as much happiness as possible." - Samuel Johnson

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Two-Minute Tune-Up

Quick inspiration

Life After Love

Counselling And Neuro Emotional Technique

